Kama Theatre: This is Not a Bedtime Story. This is an Awakening Experience.

I’m really proud of myself for stepping up to the plate in the Ping Chong + Co DevisingHub last night and presenting something for eight minutes. I was terrified because I felt like I didn’t have anything solid and my mind has been all over the place this week – “How could I possibly focus?!” But throwing myself to the wolves, of my own imagination, and being present is the best thing I did! I am still alive and in one piece. I realized there is something there. Had I not just thrown the spaghetti against the wall, I would not know what could stick. Now I can really begin to play.

Screen Shot 2015-11-06 at 1.23.32 AMTaking a seat, catching my breath, and reflecting, I was fascinated with how I wove all of my questions, ideas, and research into 8 minutes – this was improvised! I am the only one telling myself I am not ready. I learned I should just make love to my Self. The only way to find what I like – Experimental Theatre; know when to pull out; yet accidents are still loved; must be. I will cease the puns now – but what an interesting way to think of Theatre. “Mind Fuck.”

ARRIVAL!: I want to create Kama Theatre.

Kāma (SanskritPaliDevanagari: काम) means desire, wish, longing in Indian literature.[3] Kāma often connotes sexual desire and longing in contemporary literature, but the concept more broadly refers to any desire, wish, passion, longing, pleasure of the senses, the aesthetic enjoyment of life, affection, or love, with or without sexual connotations.[4][5]

Kāma is one of the four goals of human life in Hindu traditions.[2] It is considered an essential and healthy goal of human life when pursued without sacrificing the other three goals: Dharma (virtuous, proper, moral life), Artha (material prosperity, income security, means of life) and Moksha (liberation, release, self-actualization).[6][7] Together, these four aims of life are called Puruṣārtha.[8]

Kama Theatre huh? [I like Moksha too.]

Dear God! Do you know about the Indian Farmer Suicides, Mahatma Ghandi opposing the British, Genetically Modified Cotton? What is the value of origin? I opened a door and now have to ask if I may walk into the room now.

When will I get to South America?!


There are so many layers that are already present and now the task is spinning the fiber to thread: “What do I want to communicate to the audience? Why is one story more important than the other? How does each experience support the intention of the entire work; guide and drive the story forward.

Eureka!: I discovered my intention! Perhaps a most challenging thing to do. I want the audience to [ … ]. This is is not a Bedtime story. It is an Awakening Experience.

Something tells me I should not give away what my intention is, not yet. But knowing it helps me to ask the right questions and I’m sure I will arrive at suffice answers with each exploration.


FullSizeRender
The image of the man with the Asdago hair style I found through a friends Facebook post in July and I just thought it was cool. I was not thinking “This is going to be in my work!” or that it had any relation to my curiosity about Cotton. However I did think “I want to do this!” except I’m not sure about putting butter in my hair. Last night I played with the idea of putting Baby Powder in my hair. While I didn’t have a mirror to help me with the placement and I don’t think it was as visible, I really enjoyed the smell. I wonder if the audience noticed it. This was a quick decision made on some recent research I did on the process of a cotton gin and just combined all of my thoughts into a living image. The most common feedback I have received in response to the question of “What’s the first thing you think of when you hear the word Cotton?” is “Soft and Fluffy.” My hair is soft. “You can touch it.”  Also, the object in his hair pulls me to China …

Would love to hear your feedback...

